You probably understand that car insurance in Indiana is mandatory for all drivers and that most coverage depends on fault. The driver who caused the crash is the one whose policy will usually pay.
With the exception of bodily injury protection, which is a kind of single coverage that protects drivers and their passengers regardless of fault, most other kinds of car insurance coverage focus on who caused the crash. The one at fault will be the one whose policy pays.
In theory, using liability-based vehicle insurance works well for good drivers. They don’t have to pay the price when someone else causes a crash. In reality, the insurance system in Indiana might leave you at the mercy of the other driver’s coverage or lack thereof.
What does Indiana law require?
Every driver who registers a vehicle in Indiana needs to have at least $25,000 worth of property damage coverage. They also need medical liability coverage. The law requires $25,000 worth of coverage for crashes involving one hurt person and $50,000 worth of coverage for two or more people hurt in the same collision.
It’s worth noting that state law also mandates that insurance providers offer uninsured and underinsured driver coverage with at least the same minimum amount of protection. However, drivers can and often do choose to opt out of this extra coverage.
If you don’t have uninsured or underinsured driver protection on your policy, the only way to hold a driver accountable may be a civil lawsuit. Understanding how insurance works in Indiana can give you a better idea of how to respond after a major crash.